On Wednesday, the governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced mandatory 14-day quarantines for those visiting from states with rising coronavirus infections. The rule went into effect on midnight, Thursday, June 25. It applies to returning New York, New Jersey and Connecticut residents, too.
Previously, the tri-state region was the epicenter of the coronavirus pandemic - the announcement certainly marks a turnaround as other states are seeing a sharp rise in the number of COVID-19 cases.
Currently, the new rule applies to the following states:
- North Carolina
- South Carolina
Initially, Washington state was included on the list, but the state was later removed from the list.
While some counties and states allow a recent negative coronavirus test to qualify for allowing visitors to enter, at this time, it will not be a possibility. Those who do not self-quarantine and are caught will face a $2,000 fine for the first violation and $5,000 for the second violation. If a traveler causes harm, the violation will be $10,000.
While there are eight states currently on the list, that figure could go up or down depending on the infection rate. The infection rate is based on a seven-day rolling average per 100,000 residents
Other states have taken steps to avoid a spike in their infection rates brought in by visitors. Hawaii requires a 14-day quarantine for those arriving out-of-state, but starting August 1, visitors to Hawaii will be able to avoid quarantine if they test negative for the virus. Hawaii's plan is similar to Alaska's, where a traveler can avoid quarantine if he or she tests negative for the virus within 72 hours before arrival.